The Ashes Taken Back to Australia

Posted By : Editor

The Ashes Trophy, considered the symbol of the greatest rivalry in sports, has been regained by Australia after thrashing England 4-0 to win the series. When Australia and England have locked their horns in this winter to resume the century-old cricket rivalry between the two, the eyes of cricket lovers around the world were onto Australia where the 2017-18 Ashes Tournament was conducted. But England, the defending holders of Ashes Trophy, have literally crippled before the ferocious Australians by surrendering the Ashes halfway across the series. Australia have clinched the series after the third test by storming into a massive consecutive third win in Perth.

Thus, Australians under Captain Steve Smith have regained the urn they lost to England on home soil in 2015. In Perth, Australians have followed up their convincing victories in the first two tests in Brisbane and Adelaide by winning the third by an even more assertive margin of an innings and 41 runs to win the Ashes. What the world has witnessed throughout the first three tests was the manifestation of Australia’s meticulously devised and artfully executed plan to retrieve the Ashes at the earliest. Australia have been dominant in Ashes matches down under for 30 years. They have won 27 and lost only five in the past 38 Tests against England on home soil.

The Ashes Series has its origin in a “satirical obituary” written by a young London journalist, Reginald Shirley Brooks, when Australia marked its first victory on English soil over the full strength of England, on August 29, 1882 at Oval. The mock obituary, published in The Sporting Times, stated that that English cricket had died, and "the body will be cremated, and the ashes taken to Australia". The term Ashes has become a symbol of the sporty feud between the two countries when English captain Ivo Bligh vowed to "regain those ashes". Subsequently the English media has christened the tour ‘the quest to regain the Ashes’. There have been 70 Ashes series till date. Australia have won 33, England 32 and five series have been drawn.